2016 Foundation Scholarship Winners

Foundation Announces Scholarship and Grant Awards

The DuPage Medical Society Foundation Board of Trustees announces the awarding of fourteen 2016 student scholarships.

Monica Sharma of Downers Grove is the recipient of the prestigious James P. Campbell, MD Memorial Scholarship.

While maintaining an impressive GPA, Monica also tutored her fellow students in science and math. She noted that explaining a subject, concept or technique strengthened her own grasp of it. She has, on her own volition, created YouTube videos explaining complex concepts in Developmental Biology. Her professor believes this will benefit students in future years.

The James P. Campbell, MD, Memorial Scholarship was established in 1998 to honor the memory of a distinguished DuPage County physician who for 60 years was also a great advocate for organized medicine.  He served the DuPage County Medical Society (DCMS) and other branches of organized medicine in many ways, but most significantly as the Society’s secretary-treasurer for 29 years.  Recipients of the James P. Campbell, MD, Memorial Scholarship must exhibit an outstanding academic background and extraordinary potential for a future in medicine.

Christopher James Murray of Hinsdale has been awarded the 2015 William B. Frymark, MD, Honorary Scholarship.  He was the recipient of the Foundation's James P. Campbell, MD Memorial Scholarship in 2015. His goal is both to care for patients and positively transform domestic and international health care systems.  He brings an interdisciplinary, international perspective to medicine after having worked in politics, finance and health policy research in four countries.  So far, as a student, he has been involved with a medical-device start-up company that strives to make safe, sterile surgery accessible to all. After medical school, he wants to deepen his involvement in the intersection of medicine, policy, and innovation to help improve health around the world.

The William B. Frymark, MD, Honorary Scholarship is a tribute to one of the Foundation’s founders who, in the ensuing half century, has remained a dedicated supporter and steward of the organization.  Doctor Frymark served many terms as a trustee and president of the Foundation’s Board.  He also held many leadership positions with the DuPage County Medical Society. Recipients of the William B. Frymark, MD, Honorary Scholarship demonstrate superior academic ability, a commitment to service, and great potential as a healthcare service provider.

In awarding grants, Trustees show no preference for nor prejudice against former recipients.

Other 2016 scholarship recipients are as follows:

    Olga Banys, Willowbrook, Physician Assistant
    Laura E. Burns, Naperville, Medicine
    Brendan Frainey, Elmhurst, Medicine
    Mary Catherine Heaton, Wheaton, Orthotics and Prosthetics
    Jeffrey C. Jin, Naperville, Osteopathic Medicine
    Benjamin Kiesel, Hanover Park, Medicine
    Nora K. Kobayshi, Downers Grove, Nursing
    Daniel D. Li, Lisle, Medicine
    Gabriela Navejas, West Chicago, Physical Therapy
    Lisa Patel, Roselle, Medicine
    Oliv Er Phreykz, Lisle, Nursing
    Heather E. Rickord, Lombard, Nursing

“Once again we had an outstanding group of student applicants,” said Foundation president, Ronald H. Stefani, Jr. MD.  “The Foundation takes great care with the evaluation of each candidate so as to manage our philanthropic resources wisely in supporting these future health professionals."

Each year the DuPage Medical Society Foundation awards 100 percent of the funds received from contributors.  Including this year’s grants, the Foundation has awarded over $372,000 in student scholarships.